Upcoming Workshops

Our in-depth workshops and quick insights in lunch and learn sessions aim to make mental health training accessible to all. We foster a supportive community of professionals and provide opportunities for learning and growth.

Image
Image
Image

Memory and Motherhood: Is It Better Than What We Think?

 
 








 



 

  • When talking about motherhood and the brain, often the first thing that comes to mind is the idea that motherhood is accompanied by a deficit in memory performance. This is something that is referred as Baby Brain, Mommy Brain, Mom Brain, or Momnesia. Over the past 3 or 4 decades, an increased awareness of this phenomenon has become evident in pop culture and social media with numerous anecdotes about how being pregnant and having a child makes a birthing parents’ brain go to ‘‘mush’’ for months, if not years. But is this true? The rather sparse research on this topic has yet to confirm the extent and duration of these memory deficits with motherhood, and parenthood, in general, and some recent research even points to memory enhancements in pregnancy and postpartum.

    Apart from the science, or lack thereof, the fact that a majority of mothers report memory deficits during the perinatal period needs to be addressed. This webinar will provide a brief introduction into the science of ‘mommy brain’, what these feelings of ‘mommy brain’ may actually mean, and how to work with mothers to support their memory function.

    Dr. Jodi Pawluski (she/her) is a Canadian Behavioural Neuroscientist, Psychotherapist and Author. She completed her BSc in Biopsychology from the University of British Columbia, her MA in Psychology from the University of Toronto, a PhD in Neuroscience from the University of British Columbia and a Habilitation Degree (HDR) in Life Sciences from the University of Rennes.

    Her current research is affiliated with the Institut de recherche en santé, environnement et travail (Irset, UMR_S 1085), a research unit of the INSERM institute, the University of Rennes, France.

    For over fifteen years Jodi has studied the neuroscience of motherhood and the effects of perinatal mental illness and antidepressant medications on the mother and developing offspring. Her work has been published in high ranking peer-reviewed journals, including top neuroscience journals such as JAMA Neurology and Trends in Neurosciences.

June 19, 2024
9:00PT / 10:00MT / 11:00CT / 12:00ET / 1:00AT
FREE


 
 









 

Image

The Birth House: Birth Trauma Tool Demo

 
 








 



 

Get to know the Birth House Tool, a widely used tool in our Reproductive Trauma Certification Program, designed to help individuals work through birth trauma. As a perinatal health professional, you play a crucial role in supporting clients through their pregnancy, birth, and postpartum experiences. Your clients may share their birth stories with you, and they may even repeat the story over and over again in an attempt to work through the trauma.  

If you've been finding it challenging to help them process and heal from these experiences, this workshop is for you! 
 
We will show you a practical and effective tool that can be seamlessly integrated into your practice to provide consistent and compassionate support. This demo will allow you to see the tool in action and learn how to customize it to meet each client's unique needs.
 
Olivia Scobie, MSW, RSW, M.A., ACC, MSP

Olivia is a queer social worker specializing in perinatal mood, reproductive trauma, parental mental health, and provider burnout. She is committed to continuous learning and is completing a Ph.D. in Health Policy and Equity. Her dissertation is focused on the reproductive trauma experiences of LGBT+ birthers.

June 20th 
8:00PT / 9:00 MT /10:00 CT / 11:00 ET / 12:00 AT /12:30 NT
FREE!


 
 





 

Image

Canadian Perinatal Mental Health Training CPMHT Logo with name in white font 1500x398px

We offer professional development for perinatal mental health professionals. Our trainings are inter-professional; we welcome social workers, psychotherapists, clinical psychologists, midwives, nurses, naturopaths, OB’s, psychiatrists, pelvic floor physiotherapists, family doctors, community organizers, pediatricians, coaches, or sleep consultants.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.